Final Touch for the Dashboard

I had mentioned previously that there was one final touch that was needed for my dashboard in order to make it as screen accurate as possible.  That was the little 2″ tweeter (shown in the photo at the top of this post) of the hero car dashboard used in the movie

This was a tough one to track down, but with the help from the member “Nitro” on the chicks love the car forum I now have a screen accurate speaker for my dashboard.

Turns out this was an old off-the-shelf Radio Shack tweeter from the late 80’s and there was an eBay auction for one that I could quickly get my hands on.

$_12

Yesterday this bad boy arrived in the mail so I had to get it mounted to see how it looked and finally call my dashboard fabrication 100% complete.

To make it look exactly like the one in the hero car I simply used some 200 grit sandpaper to take off the thin layer of silver paint that went around the ring.  Now it’s a nice flat black color and tucked away in one of my labelled dashboard baggies waiting for final installation 🙂

Leave a Reply

