Tail Fin Clean-up

Today is an exciting day!  I now have the chassis back home and I’ll be mounting the body this weekend.  While I was waiting to get started this morning I thought I would post up a picture of some of the clean-up work done on one of the tail fins.

When the body comes out of its molds there are usually mold lines.  Mold lines are extra resin that squeezes through gaps where two molds come together. In some cases these mold lines can be VERY raised chunks depending on how sealed the mold was where the two parts came together.

The tail fin area is one of these areas that you get raised mold lines.  So I decided to bust out my various files and get it shaped the way I wanted.  There’s still lots of finishing body work to do on the fins, but so far they turned out pretty good 🙂

Leave a Reply

