Getting Ready for Mounting the Body

Over the last few days I’ve been gathering the parts that I need to be able to mount the body to the frame.  Today brought some of the key pieces to this puzzle.

I picked up my tires which were mounted and balanced.  I believe the question at Tires23 was “What the hell are you using these on?” 🙂

The tires are Mickey Thompson Sportsman Pro street/strip tires:
Two Rear: 31 x 16.5 x 15
Two Front: 28 x 10.5 x 15

They are HUGE and I LOVE them!!

I’ve also been able to pick up my universal engine mount cross member for a small block Chevy, and my universal transmission cross member.  These will be welded in place once the chassis stretch is completed.   Essentially the engine/transmission will move back the same 24″ that the frame gets stretched.  The 90 degree 2×4 bends came in today as well.  These will be used to tie the rear of the frame together once we measure where it needs to go.

I was also able to pick up my wheel spacer for the rear drivers side and the 1/2″ shank lugs to work with the Center Line wheels.

I like comparing things with the tires to see just how big they are 🙂

7 thoughts on “Getting Ready for Mounting the Body

    1. Since the molds come from the actual car which was a sculpt.. there are areas that are disproportionate. One of these areas is the drivers side rear fender. It’s 1 inch wider than the passenger side fender.

Leave a Reply

