Arm Wrestling the Engine

I absolutely love any chance I get to laugh at myself… And today I had that opportunity 🙂

This morning I was able to haul the Chevy 305 small block V8 engine and transmission donated by the Caprice back to my garage from Fourstar Motorports.  Frank at Fourstar had the engine ready for me to pick up and popped it into the back of my rental van in no time flat.

The fun part began when I got back to my place and tried to get the engine out of the van.  I purchased an engine hoist on Tuesday after work and put it all together so that it would be ready for today.

So far, so good.

Even though we positioned the engine as far back in the van as we could while ensuring that the doors would still close, it wasn’t close enough to the edge for the hoist to pick it up.

The funny part was watching me alone in the garage wiggling and pulling a 500 pound engine close enough to the edge so that I could get the hoist on it.  I really should have taped it!  Note to self… record all of these events so that you can laugh at yourself more!

Now the funny part begins.  Watch the video below to see me arm wrestling the engine into the garage 🙂

Now you may ask, “Tim, what kind of a wimp are you? That hoist is on wheels, why can’t you just roll it in”.  This is where the “Dumb & Dumber” moment comes in.

The first part of the struggle was reasonable.  Basically the casters needed to get over the ridge going from the asphalt to concrete.  With 500 lbs of weight, I needed to jack it up to get over the ridge.  Makes sense.

But then I couldn’t figure it out… Why was it so hard to roll back into the garage.  Even getting it as far as the ridge of the concrete was a struggle… Had I lost all my “glory days” muscle mass?… Have I really become that old that I can’t pull something on wheels?…

While I am in my mid 30’s, and I have lost most of my “glory days” muscle mass, the problem ended up being a really silly oversight.

When I put the two support legs on the hoist that carry the weight of the engine and roll on the casters, I never looked at them to realize that I had put the legs on the wrong sides!!  So basically the wheels were pointing in the wrong direction and I was dragging the hoist across the garage.

Ah…  What can you do but laugh at yourself… Live and Learn 🙂

Leave a Reply

