Automating the BatBerry

As I had mentioned in a previous post and in the About section, I’m going to be creating software built with BlackBerry WebWorks that I will be loading on my smartphone and my BlackBerry PlayBook.

The goal will be to power some of the systems via Bluetooth commands from my application.  The systems that I’m hoping to power are:

  • Open/Close canopy
  • Open/Close gun doors
  • Engine Start
  • Pop Trunk
  • Arm/Disarm Alarm
  • Hide/Show Licence Plates
  • Up/Down Air suspension

I’ll also have the devices Bluetooth pair with the stereo system for audio playback and use them for my GPS navigation.

All the software for the integration will be written in web technologies such as HTML, CSS and JavaScript.  I’ll also be leveraging technologies such as SVG (Scalable Vector Graphics) so that my images and user interface will scale nicely between a larger tablet display and a smaller smartphone display.

So far the SVG preview above (built in Composer from BlackBerry Theme Studio) is all I have completed.  Now I need to plumb it into some HTML and JavaScript with some touch events to make it pop 🙂

5 thoughts on “Automating the BatBerry

Leave a Reply

